When a foreign place starts to feel like home

There is a very special ‘moment’ that happens when you finally feel at home with your new life in a foreign place.

 

There is a very special ‘moment’ that happens when you finally feel at home with your new life in a foreign place. It can take some time…but when it happens, it’s glorious. Oh so glorious.

I had a couple of those moments when I was living in London for two years. The moment when I actually figured out the tube and knew where I was going. The moment when I understood how to appropriately respond to a Brit asking “You alright?” The moment when the pub around the corner finally became my local pub.

After living in Melbourne for seven months, I’ve had many special ‘Melbourne moments’. However, a stand out ‘Melbourne moment’ was when I discovered my go-to coffee shop right around the corner from where I live. For anyone who knows me, they know coffee is my life and my day often revolves around when I can have a coffee. Finally having a coffee shop where the baristas recognise me (I think?) was huge for me. Shout out to Pool House Coffee and caffeine for always making my day.

coffee

When starting a new life somewhere, it’s those ‘moments’ and minor victories that accumulate and eventually make you feel like you belong. Like being asked for directions by a tourist and actually knowing the answer. Like recommending a café/restaurant/bar/ to a friend or a colleague. Like meeting up with new friends after work. Like seeing a friendly face at my local café.

Now here’s hoping that the barista at my favourite coffee shop will finally remember my name…and order.

One thought on “When a foreign place starts to feel like home

  1. And being able to guess the mistakes the staff in your fav cafe might make when you order a veg wrap and they give you the bacon wrap next to it on a habit.. and when you recognise that guy who comes into the cafe at 9 on the dot.

Leave a Reply

